WhatsApp may soon launch the Snapchat like feature view once messages
WhatsApp is rolling out its View Once Messages feature that will enable users to send media, images or videos that can be seen once and disappear once seen.
After they have been viewed once, cannot view they cannot view them repeatedly. It is related to the expiring media Snapchat first featured, wherein users can view images and videos once they expire.
When the feature allows live, users will view a clock-like icon next to the “add a caption” bar deciding which users can send views already or expiring photos to contacts.
It is not fair if WhatsApp will also enable users to replay images and videos, as in Snapchat. However, if users disable read receipts, the recipient will yet recognise if users have initiated the photo or video hovered to view once.
Yet, the sender will not be ready to view when the recipient has initiated the media. Users can see when other members open expiring photos yet if you have disabled read receipts in groups.
The feature is rolling out for beta testers and is agreeable with Android users with the 126.96.36.199 version; features tracker WaBetaInfo described distribution screenshots showing users will send expiring media by practising live snaps sorting photos from their gallery.
WhatsApp rolled out Disappearing messages in November that disappear within seven days when they are sent. The setting does not modify earlier sent or received messages.
While in a self chat, either user can utilise disappearing messages on or off; in a group chat, only group admins have the direction to turn disappearing messages on or off.
While the disappearing messages are previously live for users, parent company Facebook’s CEO Mark Zuckerberg recently unveiled the disappearing mode for WhatsApp.
Yet, the feature being rolled out is closer to the Snapchat-like expiring media, which disappear as quickly as they are seen.
Instagram also enables users to send view-once photos. WhatsApp is slated to roll out other points soon, like multi-device support with end-to-end encryption.
The feature allows users to log in to a particular WhatsApp account managing multiple devices. You can currently log in to a single account using your mobile and computer, but the feature, once approved, will permit you to use various devices together.